Virtual ASL Shabbat

[Image description: A bird’s eye view of fresh-baked challah, red wine, and glowing candles on a table. Text reads: VIRTUAL SHABBAT. Feb 12, 2021. 4PM Pacific Time, 5PM Mountain Time, 6PM Central Time, 7PM Eastern Time. See event details for registration link! ASL-led, English captioning and interpreting provided. The logos for Hillel at Gallaudet, Jewish Deaf Resource Center, Washington Society of Jewish Deaf, and Jewish Deaf Congress are watermarked over.]

Overwhelmed by the hectic work week? Missing the camaraderie of the Shabbat table, surrounded by fellow Jewish students? Join the ASL Shabbat Coalition (Hillel at Gallaudet, Washington Society of Jewish Deaf, Jewish Deaf Congress, and Jewish Deaf Resource Center) for a directly accessible Erev Shabbat.

Each month, the ASL Shabbat Coalition takes turns hosting a service to join together Jewish Deaf people and our hearing friends to open up the day of rest. These events are led in American Sign Language, with English voice interpreting and captioning provided — including for the Hebrew portions! We have breakout rooms to connect with new and old friends; alumni and community members are welcome to join.

February’s service will be held Friday, February 12th, at 7 PM EST. Registration is required to receive your Zoom link. We are so excited to see you there!

Register here.

What is Shabbat? Also called Sabbath or Shabbos, this is often referred to as the day of rest. In Jewish tradition, Shabbat is a weekly holiday that begins on Friday evening and ends on Saturday evening. This tradition comes from the story of Creation, where G-d works for six days and rests on the seventh; we, too, step back from our busy work weeks to slow down and admire creation.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.